Silicone Cups and Green Tea Cupcakes

img_5020Either I did something wrong or these silicone baking cups aren’t as good as they claim to be. Silicone cups are supposed to be non-stick but it sure didn’t seem that way when I was trying to remove my cupcakes.  Even after cooling, my cupcakes were so difficult to remove that I had to use a butter knife to help release them from the cups.  Am I supposed to serve the silicone cups like I would with normal paper cups? That doesn’t sound too wise, especially if you bring the cupcakes outside your home because you’ll probably end up misplacing them or finding them in the trash.

Another thing was that I noticed my cupcakes seemed to dry out on the outside and had a slightly hard crust. Although it was still very moist on the inside, I didn’t like that there a bit of a crunch when biting into the cupcakes.

So the verdict is: paper cupcake liners are still better than silicone cups. They keep the cupcakes moist, are easier to remove and are disposable.  Will I give my silicone cups another chance? Maybe, but next time, I’ll probably put paper liners also. These silicone cups are good because you can bake a little more than a dozen and not consume too much space in the oven. You can easily just add another cup on your cookie sheet and not consume that much space. They’re practical that way. I’d probably try them out with a muffin recipe and see if they still stick. And if they do, they might end up as a kitchen décor.

img_5014

Now on a more positive note. I have been wanting to make green tea cupcakes and I was finally able to do it with the help of  Elinor Klivans, the author of Cupcakes! which is a wonderful recipe book given by my sister, G.  Added with a little ingenuity and voila –  the fluffiest green tea cupcakes! I used her recipe for a basic yellow cupcake and tweaked it by adding milk with green tea. I made this by steeping three green tea bags in milk. I would have used powdered green tea but I couldn’t find any. Nevertheless, the cupcakes did have the taste of green tea that was not too over powering. This was definitely the silver lining behind today’s dark baking cloud.

green tea cupcakes with buttercream frosting

green tea cupcakes with buttercream frosting

7 Comments »

  1. Kaye said

    hey Mai, try spritzing your silicone cups with Crisco butter or original spray. :)

    there’s a new store in Galleria that sells baking stuff. name escapes me at the moment, but it has all sorts of flour (even whole wheat), choco chips, flavors, etc. cheap too. it’s at the fast food area, next to mister donut, across Tokyo Tokyo.

    going to Galleria gives you an excuse to visit Saizen. :) hehe, 85 pesos everything, similar to Jusco or Daiso. they have loads of Japanese Baking goodies! Silicone cups, cookie cutters, liners, etc.

    • missmaimai said

      Ooooh! 85 pesos for everything? I like it already. Thanks for the tip, Kaye. Will definitely visit the place when I’m in the area.

      Yeah, I figured that the silicups would need Crisco or Pam after… thanks for the tip! :)

  2. ginger said

    theyre not so great??? never tried them … defeats the purpose of the silicup hype if you had to grease it :P … anyhoooo …. i’d use them for their space saving feature and line them with paper cups ……….

    do what you did with the green tea and use CHAI tea …. but make it strong ….. but i’ll still send you the powder …. trader joes has it …… but if you can get a hold of LEO GHANDI … i would surely ask him to bring some from india! also, cinnamon cream cheese frosting might be a good embellishment for this one :)

    • missmaimai said

      yes, the silicups – not so great. but i’m thinking they might work better with muffins. ok lang nga for space-saving.

      I’ll do the same nga with chai…i’m just being kuripot and refuse to pay P500 for a bottle of cardamom. hee hee

  3. finsmom said

    Ive been trying to include green tea in my diet more, as it is so good for you. What a great way to use it! Very creative – and yummy!
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Rico said

    The silicone cups don’t work?! It figures! And to think my wife’s been itching to buy those, wait till I show her this post! Haha!
    As Ginger said, it defeats the purpose if you had to grease them.

    • missmaimai said

      Yes, those silicone cups were quite frustrating. I haven’t used them since…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

