Archive for May 10, 2009

Happy Mother’s Day!

Meatballs with Roasted Tomatoes and Basil Pesto Penne

Baked Penne with Roasted Tomatoes and Meatballs

They say that you will never completely understand your mother until you become a parent yourself. No wonder my mom and I often have misunderstandings.  Now while I wait until I become a mother, I try my hardest to see things the way my mother does and to be a caring daughter.

I think my mom and I have more in common that I’d like to believe. We both have very strong and independent personalities and as much as possible, would like things done our way. My love for food and cooking is also undeniably from her. And some people say that I look exactly the way she did when she was my age, but taller.

Mom always cooks for us, whether it was Christmas, someone’s birthday or just for Sunday lunch.  She doesn’t like getting caterers because she insists that she can cook better than they do. She sometimes complains that she is tired of cooking but refuses to stop because we know that nothing makes her happier than seeing her children and grand children enjoy her cooking.

Pound Cake that my mom absolutely loved.

Pound Cake that my mom absolutely loved. She's already asking me to make some for her friends.

I may not comprehend how a mother cares for her child but I know how it is to want someone you love to be happy. So for a change, I cooked and prepared our Mother’s Day lunch. The menu consisted of Roasted Chicken, Fettucini Vongole, Baked Penne with Roasted Tomatoes and Meatballs (for my nephew who can’t eat seafood) and Pound Cake for dessert.  When I saw how pleased she was with the meal that I had prepared, I understood why she loved cooking for us.

Fettucini Vongole

Fettucini Vongole with Oyster Mushrooms

So to all the mothers, Happy Mothers Day!

Baked Penne with Meatballs and Roasted Tomatoes

  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 1 carrot, minced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 slice of day old bread
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 kilo ground beef
  • 2 cups spaghetti sauce (I use Hunts Parmesan tomato sauce)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 kilo penne pasta
  • 1/2 kilo ripe tomtaoes
  • 1 cup basil pesto
  • 1/2 c. mozarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350˚

Cut tomatoes in half and put on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil. Bake in the oven for 3o minutes. Set aside.

Soak bread in milk.

In a bowl, mix ground beef, onions, garlic, carrots and salt and pepper.  Squeeze the milk from the bread and add bread to beef mixture. Combine all ingredients thouroughly.  Roll meatballs about 1 1/2 inches in diamater. Put in a non stick pan, one inch apart.

Pour tomato sauce over meatballs and put in preheated oven.  Bake for 15 minutes or until meatballs are cooked. Set aside.

In a large pyrex, mix basil pesto with penne pasta (click here for basil pesto recipe). Place meatballs on top, alog with the roasted tomatoes. Pour tomato sauce over. Put mozarella cheese and bake in the oven for another 10 munites or until cheese has melted.

Serve warm.

Comments (2)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.