Portobello Mushroom Ravioli

What do you do when you have a good amount of baby Portobello mushrooms, relatively strong muscles and the whole afternoon? Make mushroom ravioli!

Baby Portobello Mushrooms

Baby Portobello Mushrooms

Among all the mushrooms, Portobellos have got to be my favorite, probably because it of it’s meaty and earthy taste.  I love grilling these mushrooms because doing so intensifies the flavor.  Considering that these mushrooms are quite pricey, I wasn’t about to let them rot in the ref and go to waste.

mushrooms on a stove-top grill

mushrooms on a stove-top grill

I’ve only made ravioli once before and was not that successful. I remember that first batch being too thick so the ravioli wasn’t as delicate as it should be. This time, I made sure to make it as thin as possible and since I was only using a rolling pin, I was in for a good workout. Making ravioli is quite easy, only requiring eggs and flour as the main ingredients.  The challenge is in the rolling. Making this dish is really a labor of love. (My forearms are hurting as I type this.

For the filling, I cooked the mushrooms on a stove-top grill

combine all ingredients in a food processor and chop coarsley

combine all ingredients in a food processor and chop coarsley

until soft and caramelized five white onions.  I chopped them coarsely in a food processor along with a few sprigs of flat leaf parsely, half a cup of mozzarella cheese, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper.  This is a very simple but very flavorful ravioli recipe that could stand alone or go well with a basil pesto sauce or a marinara sauce.   I thought it went perfectly with a glass of white wine.

Portobello Mushroom with Caramelized Onion Ravioli

For the Filling:

•    200 g. Portobello mushrooms
•    5 white onions
•    2 cloves of garlic
•    4-5 sprigs of flat leaf parsley
•    ¼ c. olive oil
•    ½ c. mozzarella cheese
•    salt and pepper

Ravioli dough recipe.

IMG_5123

Cut out circles about 3” in diameter using a cookie cutter. Place 1 ½ tsp. of filling onto on circle. Making sure that sides are moist, cover with another circle and secure sides by pinching.  Boil ravioli in water for 5 minutes ot until they float to the top. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil or sauce of your choice.

Portobello Mushroom Ravioli

Portobello Mushroom Ravioli

Enjoy, preferrably with a glass of wine :)

10 Comments »

  1. Jamieanne said

    I just used baby portobellos chopped up in a spaghetti dish last night, which I really love, but I totally went through the roof when I saw this recipe – it looks so delicious!

    • missmaimai said

      I’m glad the recipe excites you as much as it excited me :) you have to try it Jamieanne. It is absolutely delicious!

  2. Kevin said

    That mushroom ravioli sounds really good!

  3. aravis said

    Where do you find portobellos? Are they easily available in supermarkets in Metro Manila? Don’t they cost the earth (I mean, even more than shiitakes)?

    • missmaimai said

      Hi, aravis! I usually get my portobellos at any Rustan’s supermarket. They are a little pricier than shitake. The baby portobellos were around P190 for 200grams if I remember right. The large portobellos are more expensive of course. You can also find these at the weekend markets in Salcedo and Legaspi. Good luck in finding them (but you shouldn’t have a problem). :)

  4. aravis said

    Thanks for the info! If they ever go on sale I’ll be sure to try them :-D

  5. Roarasaur said

    I made this tonight for new years day and it turned out SO WELL. I always thought that it would require more to taste good but not so. I omitted the parsley and added a dash of balsamic vinegar and sherry. very very good.

    • missmaimai said

      I’m so glad that you were able to make it and that you enjoyed this dish :-)

  6. sam said

    not to sure where you guys live but in the united states there about 5 to 10 dollars for a nice batch of 8 to 10 mushooms!

  7. Candi said

    Buy regular white mushrooms..place in refrig in a brown paper bag until they begin to open or turn brown. They will taste similar to wild mushrooms and are so much better, just like the wild I picked with my dad as a young girl. This also works with scrambled eggs similar to an english breakfast with a sautéed half of tomato. Yummy.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

