Archive for May 24, 2009

Sunday Dinner

I am a carnivore and cannot imagine living my life without hamburgers, hotdogs and steaks. But just because I love meat, it doesn’t mean I cannot love vegetables and fruits just as much. I am quite proud of being a very balanced eater, always making it a point to have a serving of vegetables with every meal.

This Sunday, I prepared (an almost completely) vegetarian meal for dinner. Whoever said that vegetables can’t fill you up should try to prepare these dishes and see that they can have the same gratification as a meat-filled spread.

Stuffed tomatoes

Stuffed tomatoes

I wanted to make use of the tomatoes that my Mom brought back from Baguio and made something similar to my couscous stuffed peppers, except this time, I added a little protein in the form of chicken breast. This was actually a meal in itself, but knowing my family, I had to prepare something else. I paired these tomatoes with a roasted garlic and potato soup that was naturally creamy and had a slight sweetness that came from the roasted garlic. With so much tomatoes available, my Mom also decided to make a  tomato basil bruschetta with kesong puti.

garlic is good for managing your cholesterol.

garlic is good for managing your cholesterol.

After having a little bit of everything, I was substantially full and happy.  There’s something about filling yourself up with healthy eats that makes you feel good about yourself.

I’m off to my regular Sunday badminton game now… Have a healthy Sunday, everyone!

Roasted Garlic and Potato Soup

  • 3 garlic heads, roasted          IMG_5208
  • 4 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup milk or all purpose cream
  • rosemary or basil (optional)

In a pot, saute onions, carrots and celery in olive oil until soft. Add cubed potatoes and chicken stock and bring to a boil. Simmer for 15 minutes or until potatoes are cooked.  Add garlic, milk or cream and rosemary. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Blend mixture using an immersion blender or a food processor.  If soup is a little too thick, you can choose to add more chicken stock.

Drizzle with a little olive oil, garnish with herbs and serve.

Comments (7)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.