Apple Tamarillo Chutney

Apple Tamarillo Chutney

Apple Tamarillo Chutney

The great thing about a fruit is that if you don’t feel like eating it as it is, you can always turn it into something else – juice, jam, or in this case chutney. Inasmuch as I did enjoy our new fruit find, the tamarillo, I couldn’t quite eat all of it. So not wanting them to go to waste, I turned them into chutney.

There weren’t enough tamarillos so I combined them with Fuji apples, which are always a good fruit to turn into chutney. Most chutneys contain vinegar, a certain fruit and onions, then simmered slowly until it reaches a thick and almost jam-like consistency.

Chutney has become quite popular as the perfect condiment to go along with pork dishes, specifically pork chops. I think they go fairly well with fried or grilled chicken and curry dishes, of course. Some people enjoy certain chutneys with crackers or pita bread.

I can’t wait for tomorrow because I’ll be making breaded porkchops to go with my apple tamarillo chutney…

Apple Tamarillo Chutney

  • 7 tamrillo, meat removed from skin
  • 2 Fuji apples, peeled and diced
  • 1 large onion
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1-2 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp. all spice
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon powder
  • 1 tsp. thyme
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries (optional)
  • salt and pepper

In a medium saucepan, saute onions in butter until soft. Add apples and water and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer for about an hour or until it has a jam like consistency.  Transfer and cool in a jar.

10 Comments »

  1. Rico said

    I wonder how long this can last, provided we don’t finish it all up? Is it just me or most Filipinos aren’t really familiar with chutney, coz I know I’m not. Last question, any alternatives in case the wonderful tamarillo (I have yet to see one myself) isn’t around?

    • missmaimai said

      I believe chutney keeps quite long since there’s vinegar involved – probably a good month or so (probably even longer if stored well). Apples and mangoes are typical chutney ingredients. Just use the recipe I posted and eliminate the tamarillo. It should still come out the same. :) Good luck and let me know if you have any more questions about the chutney :)

      • Rico said

        Apple and mango chutney huh?! Sounds delicious already. Thanks! :)

      • missmaimai said

        You must try it, Rico :)

  2. Ninette said

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! You have lovely pics on your site, and I think you’re in the homeland. I haven’t been to the P.I. since the 1980s, but it’s in my heart.

    • missmaimai said

      Thank you for dropping by, Ninette :) I was quite inspired with your blog and photos as well. A lot has changed since the 80s but the cuisine is still pretty much the same. Maybe we can exchange ideas through our blogs :) hope to see more of you here!

  3. Kevin said

    I have been wanting to try making more chutneys. This is the first that I have heard of a tamrillo. I will have to keep an eye out for them.

    • missmaimai said

      Hi, Kevin. This was also my first time cooking with tamarillos and I really liked their unique flavor. Hope you’re able to find them :)

  4. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    • missmaimai said

      hi! Is it possible that some sites are blocked at the place where you are accessing this blog?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

