Apple Tamarillo Chutney (Part 2)

Some of you may ask, “What do I do with this chutney?” A lot! It’s only 11:39 am and I’ve already tried two dishes using my apple tamarillo chutney. Why can’t I be one of those cooks who doesn’t eat what they cook?

pork and chutney are a good combination

pork and chutney are a good combination

Whenever I eat porkchops, I always have to have something sweet to go along with it. Sometimes, UFC Banana Ketchup will suffice but when my tastebuds are feeling more sophicticated, I look for chutney. I had this for brunch and was utterly pleased with the combination of savory and sweet flavors that were swirling in my mouth. Pork and chutney make for a wonderful marriage and truly deserve a happily ever after.

grilled cheese with apple tamrillo chutney

grilled cheese with apple tamrillo chutney

This second dish is truly a great find and should be a staple in people’s list of comfort food – grilled cheese sandwich with apple tamarillo chutney. Again, the combination of the salty cheese,  sweetness of the chutney and the crunchiness of the toasted bread is juts to die for. I know chutney in a sandwich sounds a bit strange but this is one of those ‘don’t-knock-it-until-you’ve-tried-it’ moments. They say that a good dish needs to have 3 T’s – Taste, Texture and Temperature. This sandwich has got them all. Insanely delicious and dangerously addicting.

3 Comments »

  1. Rico said

    Thanks for dropping by my site.
    Wow! Very nice site. I’m putting you in my Links and Reader. :)
    I can’t really recall for sure if I’ve had chutney before, maybe I had but I didn’t notice. But that chutney and cheese sandwich combi sure looks delicious.

    • missmaimai said

      Hi, Rico! Thanks for dropping by :) Try this sandwich. Once you do, you’re never going back to regular grilled cheese :) Can you tell I’m addicted to them? hahaha

  2. Kevin said

    Grilled cheese sandwiches with chutney are so good!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

