Best Cookie Ever

This afternoon, I received a semi-frantic SMS from my co-teaher who I will be making cupcakes for on her wedding day. She needed “stuffers” for her souvenir jars and didn’t know what to put in them.  Cupcakes would have been an overkill so I suggested cookies. This was also the perfect opportunity to test drive (or should I say test bake?) a cookie recipe I had found on this food blog, Bakeaholic.

A bit of yellow sprinkles to match mt friend's wedding motif. Perhaps yellow M&Ms will look prettier?

A bit of yellow sprinkles to match mt friend's wedding motif. Perhaps yellow M&Ms will look prettier?

As the name suggests, these flatsos are flat cookies that are a little crunchy on the outside and perfectly chewy on the inside. Very hard to resist.  I really liked the hint of saltiness in these cookies but my mom (who is my biggest food critic) thought that the recipe could have used a little less of it. To each his own, I suppose.

Let me warn you though. These cookies are BUTTER-filled and could take a toll on the hips if eaten regularly. The parchment paper that I used in lining my cookie sheets were completely greased with butter after I was done baking. Good thing I ran today because I finished had two of these cookies…

I even tried adding yellow food coloring but it didn't look good...but they still tasted wonderful :D

I even tried adding yellow food coloring but it didn't look good...but they still tasted wonderful :D

We’ll see tomorrow if these cookies pass my friend’s standards, but whether or not they make an appearance at that wedding, they will certainly become a staple in our kitchen.

5 Comments »

  1. andi said

    ooh! butter-filled! need not say more, i am definitely going to try and bake these. and the recipe is martha approved, so score :) thanks for sharing!

  2. missmaimai said

    you must! i had these cookies for breakfast and they are still as good! :)

  3. ginger said

    lol! i was talking to mom and she did mention you baked ‘salty’ cookies!!! you know her ……….i bet you if you gave her sea salt caramels, she would hate it…hehe
    good job!!! i’ve been telling everyone here that you cook and bake much better than me now !!

  4. ginger said

    eek i just clicked the recipe link… i used to bake these cookies too!!!! and theyre yuuuummmyyy!!! my ex boss used to call them kettle corn cookies ….you probably know why :P

  5. missmaimai said

    hahaha! i’ll never be as good as you :)

    as for the cookies, si mommy had so much of them! rekla-reklamo siya kuno :P but yeah, they were a tad too salty kasi i tweaked the recipe lang eh. but it was still good and making it to the wedding so i’m happy :)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

