Failures and Successes

Today I woke up excited to try out two new cupcake recipes that I had found online. One was for mango cupcakes and another one was for ginger cupcakes.  I’m trying to develop a cupcake menu that has classic flavors and some unusual ones. These two, if successful would probably fall under the unusual cupcake category.

I first tried out the mango recipe since my Bindondo-purchased mangoes were just begging to be used. I had bought them quite full grown and was afraid that if I waited any longer to use them, that they would become over ripe.  The last thing I wanted in my cupcakes was a rotten flavor.

I followed exactly as the recipe directed but was quite concerned about the disclaimer that was mentioned. It said that the cupcakes ‘deflated’ probably because of over-beating. Because of this, I was very careful not to over beat. I watched my cupcakes rise and thought, “Oooh, I can’t wait!” But the moment I took my cupcakes out, they instantly deflated! In my panic, I quickly stuck them back in the oven hoping they would rise again but I knew that there was no saving these cupcakes. I downheartedly pulled my trays out and called it’s time of death.

cupcake flop

cupcake flop

I don’t understand what it was about the recipe. Was it too much liquids? Not enough baking powder? Too many eggs? As I’ve mentioned, I’m no baking expert so those of you who are, please let me know what went wrong. I am trying not to be discouraged by this failure and am hopeful in finding the perfect mango cupcake recipe.

On to brighter things…so I cleaned the kitchen preparing for my ginger cupcake recipe and was quite happy to find a bag of candied ginger that the recipe called for in our ref ( I swear, the things that my mother buys).  I had everything I needed. I proceeded cautiously and optimistic that this one would turn out ok. I watched my cupcakes rise, and this time they were forming the usual peaks. Sigh. I can breathe now. My ginger cupcakes turned out fine and actually delicious.  I was afraid that the ginger flavor would be too overpowering but it was just right.  I wanted to kiss these batch of cupcakes for not letting me down.

ginger cupcake with cream cheese frosting, topped with candied ginger

ginger cupcake topped with candied ginger

10 Comments »

  1. m said

    is that chicharon on top?

  2. missmaimai said

    wouldn’t that be a trip if it was chicharon. that’s candied ginger 😛

  3. ginger said

    mai, that looks yummy!! whats the frosting???

  4. missmaimai said

    buttercream with ginger also 🙂 a little too spicy for some but i liked it 🙂

  5. Nika said

    😀 The ginger looks really nice. I saw your blog because of your comment in the mango cupcake recipe I found while searching in Google. I haven’t tried it yet, hopefully I can this weekend. I usually experience deflated cuppies when I overbeat the mixture. But since you mentioned you were careful not to overbeat it, you might have under-beat it? xD

    • missmaimai said

      Hi, Nika 🙂 I’m actually still at a loss as to why my cupcakes were deflated but I realized one reason could be that I blended my mangoes. The recipe said to chop the mangoes only. I might have had too much liquids on my recipe because of the blended mangoes. What do you think? I’m actually afraid to make that recipe again. Hope you let me know how yours goes.

  6. Radha said

    I tried the mango cupcakes as well from the other blog and mine came out deflated as well. Not sure if that’s how they are suppose to be or it’s an error on my part? Followed the instructions and didn’t over beat. Unless the timing given for beating the ingredients is too much!! I can’t wait to try them tho!!

  7. Radha said

    I forgot to include my url!!

  8. Murfomurf said

    Having a chemistry and physics approach to cooking might help raise the mango cupcakes! I think that mangos have an enzyme in them that may further liquefy dairy ingredients, so I’d try to make them doughier, rather than runny when ‘raw’. You could also drain the mangos for a while, or overnight in the fridge, like you might do with eggplant. The mango may be rather acidic, counteracting the alkalinity of the baking powder mix- how about a bit of extra baking soda (not powder), ie. bicarbonate of soda. I sometimes find that thick natural yoghurt is better than milk or water in cake recipes that refuse to rise. If all else fails, you can always add an extra egg or just egg white when whipping the first batch of the batter. Now I’ll have to try making mango cupcakes when the mangos come down in price during summer!

    • missmaimai said

      Thanks for the advice! I think it makes sense to drain the mangoes. I actually haven’t tried making this recipe again but maybe I should soon. Will keep your message in mind 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

