Rainy Days and Muffins

IMG_5310I was supposed to join today’s Earth Run at Mckinley Hill, but early morning rains prevented me from doing so. I told myself that attending a seemingly poorly organized event alone, in the rain was not worth getting sick over and getting up for on a Sunday. I tried consoling myself with the thought that my registration fee went to a good environmental cause, but there’s something about looking at an unused singlet and race number that makes you feel uneasy. Runner’s regret, perhaps? A part of me was thinking, “What if it turned out to be a good race?” or “What if today was the day I set a new PB?” I knew there was no point on pondering on these thoughts so to distract myself from staring at my untouched singlet, I baked.

The recipe I’m featuring today is from a blog that is easily becoming a favorite. Noble Pig highlights interesting recipes with humorous writing to boot. I’m sure I will end up recreating more than one recipe from this food blog.

I tweaked Noble Pig’s recipe for Crunchy Maple-Banana-Pecan Breakfast Muffins and excluded the chocolate chips and replaced the pecans with walnuts. These muffins were moister than my whole wheat muffins since the recipe called for a mixture of whole wheat and all-purpose flour. The mashed bananas were surely a factor, as well.

IMG_5303

This and a glass of fresh orange juice will be perfect for breakfast tomorrow. Let’s hope the rains let up so that I can run outdoors again.

5 Comments »

  1. sharon said

    I’ve skipped races and always feel guilty afterwards too. What if I would’ve won?! 🙂 Clearly that probably would not have happened but you never know.

    Thanks for visiting! I love the Noble Pig as well and I’m sure these muffins were yummy!

  2. Rico said

    Looks very tempting! Will check out Noble Pig’s site.

  3. Yikes its a good race hahahah.Got to see your stuffs, looks delicious!

    Sam
    The Running Ninja

    • missmaimai said

      Thanks, Running Ninja! I guess it’s good that the Earth Run was a success. Too bad for me tho 😦 I will just look forward to the next race. Thanks for dropping by!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

