100 Cupcakes

Last night as I prepared to go to bed, I turned on the air conditioner and prayed for a good night’s sleep because the following day was sure to be exhausting. I was to bake 100 assorted cupcakes that were ordered by my friends. I was actually quite excited and psyched since being busy only means good business.  But today, I realized that if I really want this cupcake empire to flourish, I’m going to have to prepare myself for even harder days.  I wanted to burst into tears several times during the day but I just kept telling myself to suck it up…. ( sneaking in a few minutes to play with my cat also helped).

top to bottom: PBJ, Green Tea, Chai Latte and Red Velvet Cupcakes

top to bottom: PBJ, Green Tea, Chai Latte and Red Velvet Cupcakes

You know how I used to wonder why I wasn’t one of those cooks who didn’t consume what they made? Well today, I was finally one of them.  Inasmuch as I love cupcakes, after baking nearly nine dozen of these…I could barely look at them. My sister calls it baker’s fatigue. That sounds about right.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream frosting - cupcakes for a bridal shower

Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream frosting - cupcakes for a bridal shower

After icing my last cupcake, I gave myself a pat on the back in the form of a beer. Ahhhhhhh. And this is only the beginning. Good luck to all of us. Now to deliver these babies. Let’s hope for good weather tomorrow.

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream frosting

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream frosting

10 Comments »

  1. andi said

    Well I know you have baker’s fatigue, and probably cupcake fatigue but I just have to say those look delish! Yah, I usually don’t eat what I bake (except for maybe sansrival). I tip my hat to you since you seem like a great baker AND chef. Me? I am still learning how to make a decent batch of rice.

    • missmaimai said

      Thanks for such a sweet and encouraging comment, andi 🙂 Great to know that all that hard work is appreciated 🙂

  2. ren g said

    mai,

    so proud of you! can’t wait to taste these goodies when i get home =). excited to see this cupcake empire grow!

    • missmaimai said

      Thanks so much, Ren! I can’t wait for our reunion also! So much catching up to do…Will be sure to bring loads of
      goodies for everyone 😀

  3. RobinSue said

    Wonderful looking cupcakes! It is a lot of work but I bet so satisfying too. 100 cupcakes wow that is a tall order- good for you!

    • missmaimai said

      Hi, Robin Sue 🙂 Yes, tiring but definitely gratifying. I have to train myself to endure long hours of baking or get more hands to help 🙂

  4. Rico said

    My wife makes a mean cupcake herself. She even went as far as taking orders too from family and friends for birthdays, christenings, and bridal showers. I totally get what your saying. But seeing them all arranged like that and being so beautiful, it makes it all worth it.
    The top photo looks so good. How much is that anyway? Parang gusto ko.

  5. RIa said

    when i get married can you make my cupcakes?!?! haha!

    seriously though, how does the icing hold up in the weather? i was icing some cupcakes for a halloween party and i was afraid to use buttercream frosting coz i was worried it would run by the time the kids got to it. In all fairness, they came out rather cute…amateur next to yours, but cute hehe 🙂

  6. missmaimai said

    oh, there’s your other comment 😛 hee hee

    I bet your cupcakes your cupcakes turned out just fine. But buttercream can be a b*tch sometimes 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

