Fat Michael’s Place (after 5 years)

funny disclaimer

funny disclaimer

I first dined at Fat Michael’s Place, a quaint little restaurant in Bangkal, Makati about five years ago. I remembered the place to be very charming, cozy and worth visiting at least once. So when Mister M made plans for us to go to that area one Friday night, I quickly made reservations for us to have dinner at an old favorite.

IMG_6737

I actually wasn’t sure if Fat Michael’s Place was still open. You would think that after in operation for a while that a restaurant that has gained relative fame would either branch out or eventually meet it’s demise and close down.  Taking from the friendly voice I spoke to for my reservarions, it seemed like nothing had changed.

When we got there, I was actually pleased to find that the place was empty. I badly needed some peace and quiet after a long day’s work (and not to mention, the horrible traffic) and found this to be a pleasant surprise. The interiors of the place actually went through a few minor changes. What used to be a wall of books was replaced with frames that served as menus. I particularly missed the books and thought that this was part of the place’s appeal but also realized that it made the place look less cluttered.

IMG_6742IMG_6744

I carefully browsed their new menu and found that my old favorites were still there – Chicken Rosemary (P195) and the Fruit and Walnut Salad (P150), which we both ordered along with the Pan Seared Fillet in Olive Oil and Thyme (P220) and mashed potatoes on the side (P60). The food was simple and straightforward, just like I remembered. I loved that all the dishes were well seasoned and portioned perfectly.  We also ordered their kielbasa sausage (P275) to go with our beers and we were very happy to be served a very generous portion.

chicken rosemary

chicken rosemary

Pan-Seared Dory

Pan-Seared Dory

As we paid the bill and said goodbye to Sacha (who is part of the family that runs the place), she delightedly said, “Napatagal ata kayo.” I think this was a clear indication that Mister M and I both enjoyed our visit to this lovely restaurant. I honestly can’t wait for the next time and hope that I won’t have to wait too long for that. Hint, hint. 🙂

Fat Michael’s Place

115-A Rodriguez Ave., cor. Gen. Lacuña Street
Bangkal
Makati City
Tel. 843-1953

Leave a Reply

