Archive for October 10, 2009

Zen Baking

cupcake2

Green Tea Cupcakes with a Surprise Frosting

I’ve forgotten how therapeutic baking can be. Lately I’ve only been baking to fulfill orders, which can be quite stressful for the obvious reasons. Baking for yourself or for loved-ones is a totally different story.

Today, instead of working on my laptop and checking papers, I decided to take the load off by spending some quality time in the kitchen. I have a date with my college girlfriends tonight so I decided to make a dozen green tea cupcakes for them.  Making those didn’t take very long and I was still in the baking mood so I considered making a recipe I’ve ignored for quite a while.

Remember that pound cake I made before? Well, for some reason, I could never make it again. All my succeeding attempts were all failures and I just chose to resentfully  keep this recipe until I felt brave enough to try it again. I guess all I really needed was the confidence because it turned out just like the first one. Who knew ovens could smell fear?

Although today was really supposed to be spent working, I’m glad I took the time off to do something I really enjoy. I’ve been feeling so overworked lately that all I do when I’m done is sleep (oh, and maybe have a beer or two).  After today, and what I can imagine to be a good night with the girls, I should be ready to take on more work. The next week will be quite hellish and I think it was really important for me to regroup. So here’s to a week full of deadlines and hopefully a disposition that will help me breeze through it.

Comments (4)