Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

A few weeks ago, a co-teacher of mine brought orange chocolate oatmeal cookies to school and they were absolutely scrumptious.  I haven’t stopped thinking of those cookies and have been bugging my co-teacher for the recipe. While I patently wait for that precious recipe, I tried to look for a quick fix to appease my craving. This is what I found.

Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

  • 2 sticks of butter, room temp.
  • 1 c. firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (for the orange flavor, I used 1 tsp. orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla)
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 c. quick or old fashioned oats (I find that old fashioned oats have a nicer texture)
  • 1 c. dark chocolate chips (I didn’t have dark chocolate chips so I used 1/2 c. Hershey’s dark cocoa powder)

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together margarine and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla. Beat well. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl. Add combined flour mixture gradually to sugar mixture. Stir in oats and chocolate chips. Make cookie balls the size of quarters and place them one inch apart on cookie sheets. Bake 8-12 minutes (I baked mine for 10 minutes and they were slightly chewy on the inside).

You will be very happy to know that these are low calorie cookies, having only 66 calories per serving. Thank you, Spark Recipes.

These went perfectly well with my Sunday morning coffee 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. […] recipe that was passed on by a friend.  I actually mentioned how I was waiting for this recipe in this post and was just looking for the perfect occasion, and there’s no better time to whip out cookies […]

  2. mickymac said

    This looks yummy!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

