Mom’s Garden

There is something about my Mom’s garden that is comforting and soothing. We’ve lived in this house for almost 2 decades and I realize now that whenever I feel a sad, I spend time in her garden.  I don’t actually do any gardening and cannot boast that I have a green thumb. My mom and her reliable ‘”assistant” do all the tilling and planting. I just wander with the dogs and cat.

the garden looks pretty at night

Late last year, my mom decided to plant vegetables in her garden again. She first did this when I was in 5th grade. I would come home from school, still in my uniform, and would head straight to the garden to harvest tomatoes and okra with her. Now, our backyard has become a quaint vegetable garden which is great for cooks like me. There’s nothing like using freshly harvested, organic vegetables and herbs for simple dishes.  It’s almost good for the soul.

pechay
native tomatoes
basil
arugula
musn’t forget the cat.

salad for lunch

2 Comments »

  1. How’d your mom start planting the Arugula? From seeds?

    • missmaimai said

      you know what, i really don’t know but I assume that they are from seeds.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

