Saturday Morning Frittata

Three months ago, my weekend mornings looked a lot different. I was usually on a long run or recovering from it. But after the Condura marathon, I’ve been finding myself glued to the couch, searching for excuses not to run. Since Condura, I’ve only run a total of 4 times or about 22 KMS. I told you I was in a rut. I keep repeating that I don’t want to run anymore but the truth is that I miss it a lot. So why can’t I bring myself to run again?

I know that if I keep at this that I’m going to start packing on the pounds. Somebody, help!

Since my weekends have been so uneventful, I’ve had so much more time to cook and eat. I usually head over to the weekend market but today, I decided to use up whatever was left in the ref, which was not much. Potatoes, eggs, some herbs and a small slab of picnic bacon. What do you get?

Voila!

I’ve consumed half of this frittata and am stopping myself from eating the other half. Now what can I do to burn off all those calories?

Potato Frittata

2 medium potatoes, grated
3 small eggs, beaten
picnic bacon, cut into small strips
herbs
salt and pepper
 
Toast you bacon strips in a non-stick pan. The rendered fat from the bacon will serve as your oil. Toss in the grated potatoes and cook for 5 minutes, or until golden brown. Add in beaten eggs and cook on low flame for 5 minutes. Transfer pan to a 350 degree oven and leave for another 5-8 minutes or until the top looks toasted. 
 
 
Leave a Reply

