Kookoo’s Nest

Last December, I was introduced to a place that would eventually become my favorite destination in the Philippines. Forget Boracay or Caramoan. Whenever I need to get away, this charming place in Dumaguete is what I dream of.

I fell hard for Kookoo’s Nest. From the moment I laid eyes on the quaint cottages and the secluded cove, I knew it was going to be a wonderful 4 days of chatting, eating, diving and sunbathing. I haven’t stopped thinking of that place and have been telling everyone about it.

The owners, Jamie and Nikki Ingram seem to be content about the fact that not that many people know about their little treasure. Although I’m sure they’d like to maintain their resort’s quiet atmosphere, they are most welcoming to everyone, from couples wanting to honeymoon or large families trying to escape a harsh winter.

In two days, I am off to my happy place with my blue-eyed boy, and I just can’t wait! It’s wonderful to be with someone who shares my love for the outdoors and who can enjoy wading in the water just as much as I do. It’ll be a terrific escape from the past months that have been utterly exhausting.

Meanwhile, I am left to daydream about the things I look forward to…

No sunset is ever the same at Kookoos

Kinliaw! I think the boyfriend is more excited for this than I am.

That was my favorite spot on the beach.

Excited for the food! Especially my favorite pumpkin curry soup!

Nikki, the resort owner, with Bellas babies. I cant wait to meet them!

As my students would say, two more sleeps. 

1 Comment »

  1. […] I was in Dumaguete, I learned a new way of making monggo soup. In Nikki’s kitchen, monggo is cooked with […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

