Angry Cook

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from relationships, it’s that no one likes being the victim of misdirected anger. So as I was on my way home, extremely livid and frustrated, I had to remind myself not to lash out on the unsuspecting boyfriend.

Beef Lasagna

I was also not excited about the fact that I still had to make two trays of lasagna after a long day at work and a bad mood. Ever since I watched the movie, Like Water for Chocolate, I’ve believed that your current mood affects your cooking. Foul mood equals foul tasting food. I was very tempted to order lasagna from somewhere but the perfectionist cook in me resisted. So I hurried over to the grocery, bought my ingredients, got home and quietly cooked.

Vegetable Lasagna

I huffed and puffed as I peeled and chopped my aromatics. I waited for the anger to subside, but the dark cloud over me just would not go away. An hour and a half later, my two trays of lasagna were cooked and I still felt horrible. So I turned to my ever reliable shoes, laced up, and stepped out for a run. The moment I took that first running stride, I knew that I was going to be fine.

I have a feeling that my lasagna is too salty but that’s ok. I think it’s better that I took it out on the food rather than on my defenseless boyfriend, right? My co-teachers will just have to load up on water during lunch. 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. ginger said

    thats too funny, mai. james would often say ‘dont make ginger cook when she’s mad because the food will taste like crap’ …LOL … he says he knows when i didnt feel like cooking or was mainit ulo that day …. he could taste it daw in my food … :/

  2. Wow that’s a pretty lasagna!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

