Don’t Judge An Oven

All bakers know how difficult it is find a good and reliable oven. It is, however, quite common to find problems with this appliance. The most common problem that I’ve come across is when an oven’s heating temperature is uneven. I’ve used an oven that required me to turn the baking tray every few minutes to prevent the cupcakes on one side from burning. Not fun, I tell ya, especially when you’re trying to multi-task. When baking, temperature is key, so make sure that your oven heats up evenly and that it is properly calibrated. It also helps to get an oven thermometer.

Don't be fooled by this oven's looks. My solution for it's weird temperature gauge - a thermometer!

The first time I saw my boyfriend’s oven (which, to his defense, came with the apartment), I knew right away that my cupcake-baking days were to remain on hold. The fact that it didn’t have a proper temperature gauge was all that I needed to know. Months later, I remembered that I could use an oven thermometer! So, here we are, with my first tray of muffins made in an old and unattractive, but apparently reliable oven.

Perfectly baked carrot and blueberry muffins. Thanks, Sansio!

So the moral of the story is, don’t judge an oven by it’s looks. Test it first with a relatively easy and inexpensive recipe. Examine your baked goods and do a spot check by eating one from both sides of the tray (yay!). If they’ve cooked evenly and correctly, then you’re good to go. And remember, once you’ve found that perfect oven, treat it right and don’t let it go.

Visit this link for the inspiration of this muffin recipe. 🙂

7 Comments »

  1. Cecille said

    Thanks to the reliable Sansio, I had a perfectly wonderful and filling breakfast of these cupcakes. And thanks to you, of course, Miz Mai!

    • missmaimai said

      Oh, you’re very welcome and I’m glad you enjoyed it! More Sansio goodies to come! 🙂

  2. Rose said

    Hi! I also have a sansio oven here at home, but I don’t know how to turn it on. Could you please help me? I really want to bake cupcakes and what stops me is my ignorance in using this oven. 😦 since we bought this, the oven wasn’t used at all. I would be very pleased if you could help me. Sansio is not a very common brand, good thing I found your review about it.

  3. missmaimai said

    Hi Rose, I actually changed my oven but if I remember right, that Sansio oven had to be lit manually. You can get an electric lighter or a match stick and light it once you’ve turned on the gas. That’s how I lit it up before. It will also be helpful to use an over thermometer just to make sure that it’s heating evenly. Does your oven come with a manual?

    • Rose said

      No, i don’t have the manual. 😦 that’s why i really have a very hard time in figuring out how to turn it on. And i am also somehow afraid to take risks coz i’m afraid it may blow up or whatever. Haha. Anyway, where should i light it? I asked the guy who delivered our LPG, he said to light it using that big lighter thingy INSIDE the middle hole in front. Is he right? I really hope you could help me, coz my daughter’s baptism is nearing and i really want to bake the cupcakes by myself rather than purchasing them. By the way, thanks for your reply. 🙂

  4. Rose said

    I don’t have the manual of the oven. The guy that delivered our LPG said that we simply have to use that long lighter and insert it INSIDE the middle hole in front of the oven. Is that right?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

